banner image

Announcement of New Board of Directors at AGM 2024 

June 25, 2024

We are pleased to announce the election and appointment of new and returning directors to the Canadian Nuclear Association Board of Directors. 

Following the nomination process set out in our by-laws, our voting membership elected the following individuals at the CNA’s annual meeting of members (AGM) on June 18, 2024, for a term of two years: 

Newly Elected Directors: 

  • Brett Jermyn: Director of Fuel Handling & Engineered Solutions at BWXT Nuclear Energy Canada Inc. With 18 years at BWXT, he brings a wealth of knowledge in engineering, manufacturing, and project management. 
  • Krista Hill: Partner and Co-Head of Torys’ Infrastructure and Energy Practice. She has 25 years of experience in the nuclear industry, specializing in complex transactions and projects. 
  • Rupen Pandya: President and CEO of SaskPower, with over 25 years of public service experience in Saskatchewan. His leadership will be a tremendous asset to our board. 

Returning Directors: 

  • Alice Wong: Senior Vice-President and Chief Corporate Officer, Cameco. Alice has held diverse and increasingly senior leadership roles at Cameco for over 30 years, providing executive oversight for various critical areas. She has been instrumental in making Cameco a leading employer of Indigenous peoples and has led groundbreaking collaboration agreements with northern communities.
  • Jason Nouwens: Director of Regulatory and External Affairs, New Brunswick Power’s Point Lepreau Nuclear Generating Station. Jason has nearly 27 years of varied nuclear industry experience, having first joined Point Lepreau as a member of the Systems Engineering team. He has held several leadership roles, particularly through the Station Refurbishment Project, and now serves on the NWMO and COG Boards.
  • Julianne den Decker: Senior Vice President, Candu Energy Inc., AtkinsRéalis. Julianne oversees all Canadian Nuclear Major EPC Projects and New Reactors. She has extensive experience in nuclear project management, having worked with companies such as Aecon and Chicago Bridge & Iron.
  • Dazawray Landrie-Parker: Director of Strategy & Governance, Mokwateh. A Métis woman dedicated to advancing Indigenous interests, Dazawray brings over a decade of experience in research, project management, and stakeholder engagement. She focuses on culturally sensitive approaches and has been recognized for her leadership in the nuclear sector. 

Additionally, for knowledge continuity and his outstanding leadership on our finance and audit committee, the board has appointed David Cates (President and CEO, Denison Mines) as an additional director to hold office until the close of our next AGM in 2025. David has graciously accepted this appointment, and we look forward to his continued contributions over the next year.

You can find the complete list of CNA Board here.

Looking Forward: 

The new and returning board members are committed to driving innovation, sustainability, and growth within the nuclear industry. With their diverse expertise and dedication, we are poised to achieve our goals and navigate the challenges ahead. 

We also extend our heartfelt gratitude to our outgoing board members for their service and contributions to the Canadian Nuclear Association. 


John Gorman, CEO and President, Canadian Nuclear Association: “Congratulations and heartfelt thanks to all our new and returning Board members. I am excited to work closely with the Board in the months and years ahead, leveraging the vast experience and insights of Directors who have collectively contributed many decades to our leading sector.” 

Media Contact

Christopher Gully
Vice President, Communications & Member Engagement
My logo