New Cabinet Includes Bob Chiarelli, Glenn Murray

June 24, 2014

By George Christidis
Director, Government Affairs
Canadian Nuclear Association

On June 24, 2014, the newly-elected Premier of Ontario, Kathleen Wynne, announced the post-election cabinet. It includes some key ministers staying in the same portfolios as well as some senior ministers moving to new roles.

Of significance to the Canadian nuclear industry is the reappointment of Bob Chiarelli as Minister of Energy and the appointment of Glenn Murray, the former transportation minister, to Environment and Climate Change.

Charles Sousa was reappointed to Finance while Minister Michael Gravelle remains at  Northern Development and Mines. Minister David Zimmer continues at Aboriginal Affairs.

Bill Mauro was appointed to Natural Resources. Minister Mitzie Hunter was appointed Associate Minister of Finance with responsibility for the new Ontario Retirement Pension Plan.

As well, former Health Minister Deb Matthews was named President of the Treasury Board.

The legislature will reconvene next Wednesday with a Throne Speech marking the beginning of Ontario’s 41st Parliament. The CNA will monitor and assess the new Throne Speech and will provide a broad blue print to where the government intends to focus its priorities. Given the recent election, the previously tabled budget, which was also the key election platform for premier Wynne, is expected to be the basis of the new Throne Speech.

The CNA will be seeking an opportunity to reconnected with the key ministers and their staff as part of its on going efforts in re-enforcing the message that nuclear plays an important role in Ontario’s economic and social well being.

Please feel free in contacting us if you have any questions.

My logo